FIRM Research Prize "Financial Intermediaries"

Call for the Research Prize "Financial Intermediaries" of the Frankfurt Institute for Risk Management and Regulation for 2020

Since 2009, the Frankfurt Institute for Risk Management and Regulation FIRM ( is sponsored by the Society for Risk Management and Regulation, a non-profit association, in which well-known banks, service providers and the State of Hessen are involved. The main goals of the Institute are the promotion of research and teaching as well as the exchange of best practices in the broadly defined field of risk management and regulation.

Under the auspices of Tarek Al-Wazir, Hessen's Minister of Economics, Energy, Transport and Housing, FIRM awards biannually the

Research Prize of the Frankfurt Institute for Risk Management and Regulation
for the
best dissertation in the field  "Financial Intermediaries"

with a classification in economics/business administration/finance. The next prize will be awarded in 2020.

The field "Financial Intermediaries" is broadly defined and includes micro and macro research on financial issues relevant to financial intermediaries. These include for example

  • micro- and macroprudential regulation including compliance
  • financial and non-financial risks
  • financial intermediation and the real economy
  • banking structure and monetary policy, also from a European perspective (e.g. banking union, capital market union)
  • internal organization, processes, systems, use of modern IT and governance in financial institutions, including shadow banks

We invite authors of dissertations which were completed in 2018 or 2019 at a university in the eurozone with a grade of summa cum laude or magna cum laude and which contribute significantly to a better understanding of modern financial intermediation to submit their dissertations. For the Research Prize particular emphasis is placed on the relevance of the research issue, a balanced combination of internationally recognized high-quality theoretical and conceptual work, as well as an innovative approach to business application.

The prize for the author of the dissertation amounts to EUR 15,000. In addition, the institution at which the supervisor works receives EUR 15,000.

The award winner will be selected by a high-ranking and independent jury under the chairmanship of Prof. Günter Franke.
During the public FIRM Research Conference in 2020, parts of the three dissertations with the highest scores in a first evaluation round will be presented and discussed. The jury and the FIRM Executive Committee will then decide on the winner. The award ceremony will take place during a solemn dinner.   

Prerequisites for participation (see also

  • Deadline for submission is January 31, 2020.
  • The dissertation must be submitted in digital form (to in accordance with the formal requirements of the respective university (in German or English). Cumulative dissertations are also accepted. Also the reports of two members of the supervisory committee with their grades of the dissertation need to be submitted. A maximum three-page summary of the dissertation, at most two other publications of the author in a related field, a maximum two-page letter of recommendation from the supervisor, the doctoral certificate and a CV of the author in tabular format should be included.
  • Every potential award winner should be ready to present and discuss his/her work at the Research Conference of the Institute and to participate in the solemn dinner.
  • Each author who is invited to present at the Research Conference but is not awarded the prize will receive EUR 2,000; the same amount will also be given to the institution at which the supervisor works.
  • All rights remain with the author.
  • FIRM reserves the right to split the prize in exceptional cases.
  • The decisions of the jury and the Executive Committee are not subject to appeal. Legal recourse is excluded.

Contact and further information:

Office FIRM, Mrs. Esther Baumann (,

Prof. Wolfgang König, Co-President of FIRM and

Prof. Günter Franke, Chairman of the Jury of the FIRM Research Award.